Onions and Apple Blossoms

The onion sets have sprouted. So have some weeds

I planted some onion sets about a week ago, and they are starting to come in very nicely.  Roughly half of the plants have broken the surface, so even if I don’t have any more sprout I will have a decent number of onions come harvest time.

I’ve been experimenting with a solar wax melter I hobbled together with things I had lying around the house.  I am using a large glass jar with a glass lid and a dark-colored rag that the wax sits in.  As the wax melts, it passes thru the cloth and falls to the bottom of the jar, where I collect it.  So far, I’ve only rendered a small amount of wax of the handful of brace comb that I have removed from the hives.

White apple blossoms

My apple tree is in full bloom now, as is my cherry tree. I know for certain that it is getting well pollinated because I have seen a swarm of insects around the tree.  I suspect that there are some of my honey bees in among the other insects, but there were so many, I couldn’t distinguish any honey bees.  I know there were at least three types of bees: some small, likely solitary, bee, a large bumblebee and my honey bees.

I was a bit surprised to find out that the tree I thought was the cherry tree was in fact a pecan tree.  I have had virtually no experience with identifying trees before a couple of months ago, so it is not that unexpected that I make a mistake.  The pecan tree is not next to the other three pecans I know are on my property and is in between the apple and peach tree.

I am starting to harden off my vegetables.  The peas have gotten so tall that they should really be staked and for that, they need to be in the ground.  So I have started lugging all the pots out of the greenhouse after work and lugging them back into the greenhouse before I stop for the day.  I am doing this in the hope of preventing transplant shock after putting the plants in the ground outside.  How well that will work is another matter entirely.

3 thoughts on “Onions and Apple Blossoms

  1. Good luck with your peas. I’ve had trouble in the past with deer coming in just before pea picking and wiping me out. This year, I’m late getting anything in the ground, though. Maybe a bumper crop of kale this year. . .

    • Thanks. I’m just at the edge of city limits, so I hope that deer are not that big of an issue here, but if it isn’t deer, it would be moles. There is even evidence of them in the area.

Leave a Reply

