Homemade Chicken Stock

Today for easter, my wife and I had Cornish hens in little chicky sauce.  I don’t know what the “correct” name for it is, but that is what my wife, and hence I, call it.  All I know is that it tastes really good.

Boiling chicken bones.

Anyways, I’ve wanted to try making chicken stock since about the time I learned how it is made while browsing the internet. Since I had a small pile of bones on the cutting board and was feeling a bit adventurous today, I decided to try to make chicken stock.  In the worst case, the bones would end up where they would have if I didn’t grab them: the trash.

The finished stock. Looks pretty good to me.

Anyways, it seems to have worked out well.  The bones and  trimmings simmered for some time between one and two hours and I don’t have a more exact number because I wasn’t paying attention to the time, but the coloring  of the stock.  After that, I filtered the stock thru a clean dish cloth I found in the kitchen into a jar.  I didn’t get a lot of stock, but for something that was going to go into the trash, it turned out pretty good.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chicken Stock

  1. Yes I have done this too. I put 1 to 2 onions and some garlic in the pot when boiling and it adds some much needed flavor. Also its pretty blan if you don’t add salt. yum it looks good!!!

    • Well, I didn’t put anything else but the bones in the pot, so it may be a bit bland. But I know the sauce the hens were cooked in contained soy sauce, so it may have a bit of salt in it. But I didn’t taste it so I can’t say for certain how it tastes. I could always add salt later if needed.

Leave a Reply

