Its Looking Like a Real Garden

The part of my garden that hasn’t been overrun with grass.

After returning from my business trip, I have picked up pretty much where I left off where my garden is concerned.  But what has really struck me is that my garden plot is starting to actually look more like a vegetable garden and less like a section of ground with the grass scrapped off.  Several of the tomatoes have started to flower.

There is still a ton of work to do.  My last batch of bean starts was rather lackluster, with only about ten of the seventy-two pots I started surviving. I am fairly sure the heat and uneven watering is responsible.  The best of the surviving plants went in the ground today.  I need to start a few new trays of beans and I hope I have a better yield this time.

The part of the garden plot overrun with grass.

Part of the massive amount of work I still have to do is reclaim about half the garden plot from grass.  I haven’t had a garden hoe until today, and so I have been slowly falling behind on the weeding.  I should be able to reclaim some of the lost ground as long as I can keep from getting blisters on my hands from overworking.

Thankfully, there was a light rain for most of today.  It has been a while since the last rain and I was starting to get very low on the water in my trash cans turned rain barrels.  I’m still rather low, but not as much as before.  I hope this gives another boost to the wildflowers for the bees.

Leave a Reply

