The Tomatoes Ripen

Three of the tomatoes are turning red. This is one of them.

I’ve been awaiting this moment all year: I have my first tomatoes ripening.  I’m not quite sure when this variety of tomato is best picked, so I am trying a few different times to get a feel for the timing.  The remaining tomato plants have more tomatoes that I am willing to count right now, and several of them will probably start ripening soon.  I suspect that I will have a nice continuous tomato harvest from now until the frost kills the plants.  Once I start processing the tomatoes, I am going to attempt to save seed for use next year.  I’ve seen a few tutorials on how to save tomato seeds, but like everything else I’ve learned, there is a fairly big difference between watching somebody doing what you want and actually doing it.

The peaches have started turning color.

It has been a while since I posted anything on the peaches, mainly because nothing interesting has been happening with the peaches. They have just slowly, but steadily, grown in size. Now, they have finally started changing color. This signals that they are getting close to being ready to harvest. I am guessing that harvest will be between two weeks and a month and a half. I really don’t know how long they take and when exactly they are ripe.  As soon as they are ready, though, they will all be harvested, pitted and canned for use later.

The garden is pretty much full now.

My mother came over today and brough seventy strawberry plants, numerous irises, day lilies, and assorted other flowers. Because I don’t really have anywhere else to put them at the moment, they went into the garden plot. Many of them will be remaining in the garden for as long as I can keep them alive and I will be dividing them for the plants that will go into the front flower beds. Those beds need some work to get ready and I won’t be doing that until next spring at the earliest.  The space in the garden plot that was remaining after the flowers went in, I planted out with more pinto beans. This is for fertilizing the ground thru nitrogen-fixing bacteria, experimenting with planting methods and if I am lucky, some more beans.

The pumpkin continues to grow larger.

If I want to grow more food next year, I will end up needing to expand the garden plot.  I have already expanded the plot by about a foot on one side already, and it is a lot of work with a garden hoe.  The two biggest problems with doing this is hard, dry Oklahoma soil and grass.  The first limits how much time I have to work the soil and the second makes it a lot more difficult.  Especially when it tries to take back the area already cleared. I know that machinery would make it take a lot less time, but I enjoy the exercise I get doing it by hand, especially since I end up sitting at work so often.

4 thoughts on “The Tomatoes Ripen

Leave a Reply

