First Harvested Tomatoes

Nice, ripe tomatoes.

Over the past week, I’ve started harvesting the tomatoes.  So far, I’ve gathered eleven tomatoes.  One of the first things I noticed about them, especially after reading an NPR article on heirloom tomatoes, is the “green shoulders” the tomatoes have.  This is apparently something that pretty much all heirloom tomatoes have and is one of the reasons that heirloom tomatoes taste different from the tomatoes available in the supermarket.

Pinto bean plant with pods a day or two from being ready to harvest.

The other harvest I have going on right now is pinto beans.  I have been getting a nice steady harvest since the first pods I pulled off the plants.  The number has steadily increased over the past two weeks.  Now I am getting about thirty pods a day.  I have easily recovered the seed beans I planted this year and I don’t  see the harvest stopping for several months.  The first row of beans directly planted in the ground is starting to flower and in a few weeks will have their first bean pods starting to grow.  It is about a month after the first pod appears to when the pods can be harvested.

A double row of bean sprouts. In a week or two, this is going to be a nice, thick row of bean plants.

Last week, I planted another set of bean plants directly in the ground.  This time, I am trying a double row of beans to see how that works.  I hope it works well, as using a double row should allow me to plant the beans more densely in the garden plot, meaning more beans in the same amount of space.  I was planning on just using beans as a green manure, but now that it seems likely that I will be able to get beans off these plants, I will take all the beans I can get.  I’m interested in seeing how many I can get before frost kills the plants.

3 thoughts on “First Harvested Tomatoes

    • The main reason I went with heirloom tomatoes is that I wanted to try saving seed. Heirloom, and specifically open pollenated, varieties are more likely to have seeds that produce very similar plants. Modern hybrid plants are specifically not open pollenated and are not likely to be true to seed.

Leave a Reply

