One of the Hives is Doomed

The hive in healthier days.

This morning, I went out to dust the struggling hive again.  Before I did it, I did a full inspection of the hive.  Turns out that The hive is already dead and just taking a while to die completely.  There is no sign of a queen in the hive.  No eggs.  No larva.  No capped brood.  I’m not too happy about this setback.  The silver lining on this all, however, is that because this was a swarm, I am not out any significant money because of this.  Pretty much just what the foundation cost.  I’m going to end up melting down all the wax in this hive as I don’t want the European Foul Brood to get into any of the other hives by accident.

2 thoughts on “One of the Hives is Doomed

    • I believe so. From the time I found the hive was diseased, it was another week before I could apply the first treatment to the hive. I’m positive that didn’t help with things.

Leave a Reply

